Top menu

South West

The south west marine area includes two plan areas, the south west inshore and the south west offshore marine plan areas.

The south west inshore marine plan area covers an area of approximately 2,000 kilometres of coastline stretching from the River Severn border with Wales to the River Dart in Devon. It covers over 16,000 square kilometres of sea.

The south west offshore marine plan area includes the marine area from 12 nautical miles extending out to the seaward limit of the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ). This is a total of approximately 68,000 square kilometres of sea.

Our first products (Iteration 1)

In Spring 2017 we consulted on our first products of the process that will lead to the development of the south west marine plans. Thank you for your contribution to the development of these products. We provided example marine plan policies and a digital format for consideration. Feedback on this material is helping us develop marine plans.

We will provide further material as the plan develops. The next full round of public engagement, on our Iteration 2 products, will be in the first part of 2018. A timeline for marine plan production and an overview of our approach is in the Statement of Public Participation.

Using the marine plans

Until this marine plan is adopted you should use the Marine Policy Statement. The Marine Policy Statement is the relevant policy document for use when making decisions and developing proposals.


Your local marine planning contacts in the south west plan area are Edward Wright (Bristol) and Nick Boase (Hayle office).