Top menu


The South Inshore and South Offshore Marine Plan areas were the second two marine plan areas to be selected in England. The south inshore marine plan area covers an area of approximately 1,700 kilometres of coastline. This area extends from mean high water springs out to 12 nautical miles, stretching from Dover to the river Dart taking in over 11,000 km2  The south offshore marine plan area includes the marine area from 12 nautical miles extending out to the seaward limit of the Exclusive Economic Zone, a total of approximately 10,000 km2.

The marine plans have been issued out to public consultation. This commences on the 7 November 2016 and finishes on 27 January 2017. You can view and comment on these plans here

Using the marine plans

As such, the draft South Marine Plans and the Marine Policy Statement and should be considered by decision makers and applicants when undertaking an activity within this marine plan area.


Your local marine planning contact in these plan areas are Nicole Yeomans and Clare Kavanagh in the Poole Office/